Tumblin’ around

So, a friend and I started a Tumblr blog (or more affectionately known as a “tumblog”) in order to encourage our demographic to get more into not only the blogging atmosphere but also in the news world. News is hard to make applicable to people, and particularly and most interestingly, college students. We’re at the peak of our intelligence and we’re just getting thrown into real life, and yet, many of us have yet to find something to be passionate about. I, for one, love the news and subsequently, I love my major. Therefore, I love to be involved in whatever the J-world throws at me, but I often find other people my age questioning what they want to do with their life between cups of beer. It’s not fair to unjustly paint a brush over my fellow populace—I actually just spoke about this with a friend yesterday—because I feel like every person has a little spark inside of them that sometimes just needs a little push. It’s probably impractical to push every young person to follow the news, but I feel like using a platform like Tumblr is a good way to turn more people on to the idea. That’s why my friend and I have decided to start this blog. Tumblr has a very interesting population, and it’s become increasingly more popular. While traditional journalists lament the collapse of the newspaper industry, I sit here progressively agreeing with the prospect of convergence journalism. There’s no way that people, especially younger people, are going to jump on the news band wagon like their predecessors did decades before. It’s going to take a lot more than newsprint to keep our industry going, and I think this blog (while we’ve been lacking in keeping it updated…this will change as soon as we get a good hold on balancing life stresses) will help us thrust our convergence presence, at least in the world of Tumblr.

Here’s our blog here.

Here are a couple screen shots:

Front page of Collegiate Voice.

One of my posts on our blog.

Here’s what the main dashboard looks like:

Dashboard of Tumblr.

Tumblr’s become a more popular place to host news blogs: there are now Tumblrs for NPR, The New Yorker, Christian Science Monitor, among many others. It’s a combination between the more traditional long-form blogging like Blogger and the short-form sites like Twitter. It’s a nice place for you to be equally eloquent and concise. Which, in turn, is exactly what a journalist fawns over. I believe that embracing these forms of communication is vital to reinforce the future of journalism. While I feel like the blogosphere and the App-oriented journalism has a rocky future, I feel like we can be aware of modern technology while remaining in the strong boots of traditional news reporting. We’ll always need papers, but we’ll also need readers too, and the internet is clearly a contender for the future.

Leave a Reply

