Down and out, and an election

So, today I finally came to terms with the fact that I’m probably sick. So, after a good 2+ weeks of harboring a nice little cough and a compromised immune system, I took a day off. I had not been wanting to do this because I hate the thought of losing so much time. But honestly, I feel a lot better now. Once I hit my bed after getting back from budget at the Missourian, I slept for practically four hours, ate dinner, and then slept some more. I feel fantastic, but needless to say, I didn’t get as much done as I wanted to. I have been working on a piece on poverty in Columbia at the K-12 level, and I was hoping to crank it out today. But, alas, comatose mode struck and I’m just feeling up and at ’em. I’m starting back on the work that I had originally planned, so I’ve got quite a night ahead of me. But, out of respect for my colleagues and myself (I don’t want to spread this awful virus I caught), I will probably hit the sack early. It’s amazing the amount of time you can sleep when you’re under the weather.

But anyway, my fellow education reporters Allie Hinga and Nicole Jones and I have put together our first mini-profiles (link) on the school board candidates who are running for the election on April 3. I had a great time speaking to the Columbia resident I spoke to, Paul Cushing, and I believe my other colleagues did as well.

This is Paul Cushing, the school board candidate who I will be covering for the election. He is new to the political election scene, and grew up in central Florida (like me!).

From personal experience, I’ve learned that the school board is a very, very interesting facet of local government. It’s a chance for citizens to speak to and voice their opinions to—and boy, do they voice them—elected officials. From redistricting to new air conditioning systems, there always seem to be somebody who’s got something to say. But I don’t think that’s necessarily a bad thing, although tensions can raise and attitudes can become thorny. (This is all being said from my experience witnessing the public school system in Orlando, Fl. when my mom was on the school board, not necessarily describing CPS.) I think our school district here is fantastic; it’s a town who has education as a top priority. And school board elections are telling moments for the times to come, so I’m excited to see where these candidates will take us with their platforms, and it will also be interesting to see how Columbia residents will respond. I’m glad I get to be around as these elections happen, because I feel like it’s one of the most interesting functions of public school systems. All of the candidates are different and I’m sure our election team has got a lot on our plate, but we’re ready to take it full-force.

I’m sick right now, but I won’t be for long. And more importantly, I just simply can’t let sickness get in the way. I’ve been taking care of myself, and I may just have to step it up a little bit. I’ve gone through an entire jug of Simply Orange today and my Emergen-C is running low. Must keep my spirits up and my immune system pumping strong.

This post will be brief because I’m actually writing a longer one I’ll post tonight about something that’s been on my mind for a while. It’s not a total digression, and it factors into journalism. Heck, most of what I think about links back to journalism in some form. What will this post be about? A bit of philosophy, a dash of sociology, and a dab of journalism. Stay tuned, y’all.

I’m also putting together a post on citizen journalism that I’m hoping to post pretty soon. It’ll be lengthy, but it’s something I’ve been thinking about lately. Suspense?

Leave a Reply

