Election 2012 (of the school board breed)

It’s about an hour and a half away from the school board elections here in Columbia, and the education reporters are sitting in the newsroom with bated breath and impatience.

(Well, not quite…but we’re still excited!)

It may not seem like a big deal, but I really do think that local elections like this are very important to cover to gain experience but are also pretty good for keeping our local life functioning. I’m glad I was one of the reporters who go to cover the election. I obviously can’t advocate one way or another, but in the end, I think we’ve all learned lessons — reporters and candidates alike. I know there has been some shifts in thoughts and platforms, and I can definitely defend the point that this coverage has helped Allie, Nicole and I (and Margaux!) learn a lot. We’ve developed some rapport with the candidates and it’s been a great ride.

Only the voters will determine who will be elected tonight, but we at least know that we’ll be there to cover it all. Stay tuned!

(Here’s the Missourian’s voters’ guide for the election.)

Aside from the election, the past 24 hours have been quite a rollercoaster for me. I won’t go into a long-winded rant (I’m trying to actively trim my verbosity’s hedges of excess) about it, but I’ve already faced a couple minor challenges. I suppose it’s the fact that everything was kind of thrown at me on Monday after a relatively calm (but not uneventful) weekend. But I don’t feel like that’s a good excuse. I can’t deny that I’ve been spreading myself pretty thin this semester. I definitely have. It’s just that I’m so used to doing that. I’m ambitious (or perhaps overambitious) and because of this, my body and psyche can sometimes fall behind my brain’s tenacity.

It’s just that I want to embrace every moment while I’m here. But I think something I’ve got to come to terms with is that I don’t have to do everything that I want to at once. There’s time. I wouldn’t say I’m a rash person, but I can get very passionate and very into the things I love, and then I realize at certain moments the speed in which I live my life, and I get a little hesitant.

Sometimes I just need to slow down and breathe. I’ve put a lot on the back burner this semester to focus on the Missourian, my part-time job and my interests. Maybe I need to figure out some time in my day where I do yoga or at least sit in my room with the lights off (trust me…it works) to help me keep everything in perspective.

Right now, I’m about to go to a watch party for the school board election. I’ve done well on a couple tests I got back today, I’ve got some great opportunities coming up for me, I’ve figured out my class schedule for the fall, and moreover, I’ve got a lot of people around me who support me. Sometimes I get distracted from that. I need to appreciate the little moments of my life, and sometimes that means I’ve just gotta slow down. The people in my life are very patient with and very supportive of me. And I want them to know that.

We’re heading into the final stretch now, and I’ve gotta pull out all the right cards. It’ll be a crazy next five (or six?) weeks, but I’m sure I can do it. I’ve just gotta stay positive and keep chuggin’ along! Not chuggin’. Sprintin’.

Also, I forgot to write about my articles that were published over spring break!

The first is a collaborative piece I did with a couple other reporters (who are great reporters, by the way). The other is a profile I’ve been working on for a while. I’m glad it finally published.

Leave a Reply

